Finally the irc bot can save the channel’s logs

Finally batuli can save the channel’s logs. I can still remember the very first day when I and sanketdg joined the irc channel ##testbot to work for irc bot batuli and I asked sanketdg “Won’t batuli save the logs of the channel as batul does for dgplug?” , sanketdg replied to me “Make it save the logs if you can!”.

I couldn’t ever imagined that making batuli save the logs of the channel could be done in so simple way. Ah yes, I spent my days studying about logging module and twisted log module. And i took help of twisted log module to make batuli save the channel’s log and sent a pull request. But sanketdg told me to make it simple and he suggested me to use logging module, yes he was pretty correct. The script was looking pretty complex. Hence I started working with logging module. On the next morning suddenly an idea came to my mind. I asked myself that why I am using these logging modules to save the channel’s log, I also have other options in Python . Because, Python is such a programming language with what you can do just anything. Coding in Python is nothing but playing with it 😉 . And what I did is just append the message of user to a file. There couldn’t be any simpler way to make your bot save the logs. Let me share it with you 🙂

with open(args.filename,'a') as fobj:
    fobj.write('\n' + time.strftime('[%d-%m-%Y %H:%M:%S]') + \
            ' <' + user + '> ' + msg)

To take command line argument, I have used argparse module instead to sys module to make the command line interface more interactive with user and it was an idea of sanketdg  🙂

So I am really happy that batuli now saves the logs of ##testbot. Join our channel ##testbot on irc.freenode . Fork us on github . Follow README section to know how to use batuli , just give it a try and I am sure that you will love it 😉

Leave a Reply

